Posted in Foodie, Singapore, Travel

Singapore: All About The Food

One thing you need to know about The Shaw’s (of the Carleton Shaw variety) is that we LOVE food. We love cooking it, we love eating it and we love talking about it. So, I  couldn’t very well leave Singapore without doing a blog solely based on my top ‘Nosh’ recommendations, could I? What kind of Shaw would that make me?

Over the past eight weeks I have found so many cafes, restaurants and hawkers that I have really enjoyed. Healthy, naughty, budget, brunch, there are simply too many to blog about (I promise you, you would be here all day!) So, these are my top three favourites for each …

      Breakfast, Brunch, Brinner 

Ron Swanson – Parks and Recs

Anyone who knows me well, knows that, like Ron Swanson, I can eat breakfast food for literally every meal. Eggs and Bacon, Avocado and feta, waffles and maple syrup…it’s all good. And seriously, why would you want to eat anything else? I cannot think of a counter argument right now….Here are my top three spots in Singapore for breakfast lovers…

• The Clueless Goat

A popular breakfast/brunch spot for the Wicked company, as it was a mere stones throw from our hotel in Novena. A great menu, reasonably priced, and the coffee is especially good. I had The Jolly Rancher, smashed avocados and poached eggs on wholemeal bread, salad and salsa. Delish! With a medium coffee this set me back $13 (roughly £8) …excellent value.

img_3440
The Jolly Rancher
  • THE CLUELESS GOAT: 189 Thompson Road, Novena
  • Tue – Thu: 08:00 – 18:00
  • Fri: 08:00 – 21:00
  • Sat: 09:00 – 21:00
  • Sun: 09:00 – 18:00
  • Closed: Mon
  • Nearest MRT: Novena

Wild Honey

This brunch spot in Orchard, is a little pricier- but for a nice treat it’s really worth it. The menu is extensive, sweet, savoury, naughty, healthy…something for everyone. The only problem with that is everything looked so good I wanted to try a little bit of it all (a “little” bit – who am I kidding!)…Eventually, after some careful thought, I went for the Boulevard St. Michael ($25.)

img_3363
Boulevard St Michael
French toast (😋) with double baked cheese & spinach soufflé, parmesan crumbed poached egg, slowroasted tomatoes, grilled back bacon & spicy tomato chutney… Delicious !

  • WILD HONEY: Mandarin Gallery, 333 Orchard Road
  • Mon – Fri: 09:00 – 22:30
  • Sat – Sun: 08:00 – 22:30
  • Nearest MRT: Orchard

• The Bravery

I was drawn to this cafe because I adore Lavender and Rose flavoured biscuits, scones, jam (the list goes on.) I also like good coffee and at The Bravery they have Lavender Lattes ($5.50) on the menu… So naturally I needed to come here and check those out. This artsy little cafe (with free wifi 👍) is located on Horne Road just a few minutes walk from the Lavender MRT. There are quite a few coffee shops and bakeries on this strip 😋

A few of us gathered for brunch and all of us had great breakfast food. I had the pancake stack ($15) which was just heavenly. I have to say, I really liked the lavender latte- it’s not something I would have everyday but I really rather enjoyed it 👍

  • THE BRAVERY: 66 Horne Road, 209073
  • Mon: 09:00 – 18:00
  • Wed – Fri: 09:00 – 18:00
  • Sat & Sun: 08:30 – 19:00
  • Closed: Tue
  • Nearest MRT: Lavender

 Healthy 🍎🍉🍐

I mentioned in my previous blog, Singapore Part One, that it really is incredibly easy to find healthy options here in Singapore. There are lots of build your own salad shops (Salad Stop, Raw, Salad Chef.) I have found a fair few healthy eateries in Raffles Place so it’s definitely worth a trip there if you are looking for some clean eating. Which brings me to my first recommendation…

• SMØR

Smor Deli in One Raffles Place is a Scandinavian company, that offers freshly prepared, healthy gourmet meals at affordable prices. I have visited here quite a few times and always had excellent quality and filling meals. I have tried the Coconut Salmon, Norwegian Cod and the Ginger Chicken, all of which have been excellent.

img_2590
Ginger chicken, Wild Rice, Broccoli & Avocado
Good news…Smor delivers and has delivered to our theatre in between shows on a matinee day and the staff are ever so friendly and accommodating. Prices range between $11.90-$15.90 depending on what you add to your meal.

  • SMØR: One Raffles Place
  • Mon – Fri: 08:00 – 20:00
  • Sat: 09:00 – 16:00
  • Closed: Sun
  • Nearest MRT: Raffles Place

The Caveman

If you love roast dinners (as I do) then The Caveman is a great, healthy version of this dish. Roasted chicken cooked in a variety of different spices to choose from Rosemary & Thyme, Mexican, Morrocan, Indian and an array of healthy sides carrots & broccoli, sweet potato, pumpkin, baked egg and apple salad. Prices are reasonable at $12.90 for half a chicken plus two sides.

If you are staying at the Oasia hotel, Novena then you can just press B3 in the elevator and it will take you straight down to the food area of Square 2.

Roasted Chicken (Mexican & Rosemary & Thyme) Broccoli & Carrots 😋
  • THE CAVEMAN: #B1 Square 2, 10 Sinaran Drive
  •  Mon-Sun 11:00am- 20:00pm
  • Nearest MRT: Novena

Pita Pan

I found this Mediterranean, vegetarian restaurant on my second day in Singapore whilst we were in technical rehearsals. Firstly, if you are working at the theatre or in Marina Bay and are looking for something veggie then this place is ideal. Freshly prepared, colourful, tasty food that won’t break the bank and there is a little seating area outside (for no extra cost) over looking the bay and skyline.

The falafel was a popular favourite amongst our cast and crew but I really enjoyed the Green Shakshuka, (spinach and spices with feta or halloumi cheese.) This came with warm pita on the side. They also offer a vegan version of this dish. I found everything I tried here really yummy and filling. The chick pea hummus is also really good (great for sharing!) A standard meal here with a drink is around $15-20.

Green Shakshuka
  • PITA PAN: #01-87 Marina Bay Sands, 10 Bayfront Avenue
  • Mon – Thu: 09:00 – 00:00
  • Fri – Sat: 09:00 – 02:00
  • Sun: 09:00 – 00:00
  • Nearest MRT: Bayfront

Naughty… (But oh so nice)

“Nothing tastes as good as skinny feels” …. FALSE! (Seriously 🙄 ) Whoever said that clearly hasn’t tried some of the scrumptious goodies I have over the last 8 weeks….These are my top three deliciously naughty cafes to tickle your tastebuds…

• AEIOU

I stumbled (happily) across this cafe in Lavender. The cafe really reminds me of somewhere you might find in Crouch End, London (my old stomping ground.) So I ventured inside.

To my absolute delight they had Rose Lattes on the menu! They also had an afternoon special, with any cake you got any non-alcoholic beverage half price. So my Rose Latte (usually $5) I got for $2.50 accompanied by a slice of baked cheesecake ($8) that was rich yet light and it made for a perfect afternoon ☺️

  • Address: 111A King George’s Ave
  • OPENING HOURS
  • Tue – Sun: 10:00 – 22:00
  • Closed: Mon 
  • Nearest MRT: Lavender

Plain Vanilla Bakery

I know I’ve mentioned this bakery before in a previous blog  but I have to put it up there as one of the best cafes/bakeries I’ve been to in Singapore. Situated in Tiong Bahru, I found Plain Vanilla Bakery really warm and non pretentious. Just great food. I like the fact that you can see the bakers at work, a lady was making biscuits when we visited. A great place to just relax and watch the world go by.

img_3038
Salted Caramel Tart…
  • PLAIN VANILLA BAKERY: 1D Yong Siak Street, Tiong Bahru
  • Monday – Saturday: 8am – 7pm
  • Sunday: 9am – 6pm
  • Nearest MRT: Tiong Bahru


Hyde & Co

If you are craving a good old cup of English breakfast tea in a bone china mug -that doesn’t cost the earth, then Hyde & Co is a great little cafe in Bugis to seek out. For me, nothing beats Yorkshire tea however the Butterscotch popcorn waffle ($15) definitely won me over..

  • HYDE & CO: 785 North Bridge Road
  • Monday 12pm till 6pm
  • Wed-Friday 12pm till 10pm
  • Saturday 11am till 10pm
  • Sunday 11am till 6pm
  • Closed on Tuesdays
  • Nearest MRT: Bugis

 Budget Banquets… 

There’s no getting away from it, Singapore is an expensive city. However, there are ways to enjoy local delights on a budget. Food hawkers (street food centres) are, in my opinion, some of the tastiest foods I have tried here …and they also keep your wallet happy ☺️

•China Town Food Complex

Found in China Town, no less, on Smith Street. I mentioned this hawker in Singapore part two. This is the hawker centre that has ‘Hong Kong Soya Sauce Chicken Rice’-the hawker stand with the Michelin star ⭐️ But also you can find many stalls in this complex with fantastic food for a great price. Jodie and I found some incredible vegetable dumplings for $5.50 so good, we went back for seconds…

img_2494
Veggie dumplings

•Newton Food Hawker

I came here late after the show one night and had quite possibly one of my favourite meals I have had in Singapore. The hawker centre is located just outside Newton MRT station and is open until 3am. I had Char Siew Rice- which is essentially pork and rice.

img_3457
Char Siew Rice
The standard was just incredible, if I had been served that at a top restaurant for five times the price I would have been happy … $5 and worth every penny! (And then some) 👍

•Satay By The Bay

Located in the Gardens by the Bay, this alfresco food hawker is a little pricier than Newton, ChinaTown & Lau Pa Sat but still very reasonable. Cast member Dean (who recommended it to me) and I went in between shows for a Mediterranean feast (pictured) My meal set me back $15 including my drink. The stalls vary in cuisine and price and the smells were fantastic.

My Favourite…

The Banana Leaf

Located in Little India, which is one of my favourite areas in Singapore, I love the vibrancy of this community. Popular with local Singaporeans, the restaurant has an excellent selection of Indian favorites. Meals are served in a traditional setting, on a banana leaf instead of a plate. (Biodegradable and environmentally friendly 🌏) Have a go at eating with your hands, at first I was apprehensive, but once I got stuck in I really enjoyed myself.

img_3406

The food is so tasty and flavoursome. I would recommend the Butter Chicken ($13), Briyani Rice ($4) and veggie yellow Dhall ($7.)  😋

  • THE BANANA LEAF: Little India Arcade, 48 Serangoon Road,
  • Mon- Sun 10.30am-10.30pm
  • Nearest MRT: Little India

Safe to say, for all you foodies out there, you will LOVE Singapore. As well as the culture and a million and one things to do here one things for sure…you won’t go hungry.

I hope you found this helpful, and as usual any questions then please pop them in the comments box. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and I hope you didn’t read this on an empty stomach!

Love Emily xxx

“Food is our common ground, a universal experience” – James Beard

 

 

Author:

Actress, Foodie, Tea Fanatic.

Leave a Reply

