Posted in Hong Kong, Travel

From Higham to Hong Kong

Jet Lag (Noun)

Extreme tiredness and other physical effects felt by a person after a long flight across different time zones.

I’ve always fancied myself as a mind over matter type of gal… However, flying from Singapore to London followed by London to Hong Kong in less than two weeks gave the matter of my mind a bit of a challenge (to put it mildly) …Hence my first week in Hong Kong is a little blurred…to say the least!

I come from a small town in Northamptonshire, England, called Higham Ferrers. It’s a pretty little market town, everyone knows everyone and whenever we drive down the old A6 along the Market Square I feel that true sense of home. Higham is perhaps not quite a two hour drive from London and when Daniel (my brother) and I were little, Mum and Dad used to take us to the big smoke as a treat maybe once or twice a year.

London is still hands down my favourite city in the world. I love cities, I love the hussle and bussle, the lights, the interesting people you meet. So, imagine my delight when I (finally) woke up in Hong Kong, one of the most cosmopolitan, vibrant cities in the world….

Hong Kong Skyline

The first week in a venue, be it Bradford, Singapore or Hong Kong, is always a little trickier because we are putting the show on in a new theatre. Since we gain new members of our team in each venue we go to including musicians, technicians and wardrobe departments, we are rehearsing the show with them for the first time. It’s great that we get to work with local people who live in Hong Kong and it’s the best way to learn about some of the sight seeing we can do while we are here… first hand recommendations from our local team ☺️

Lantau Island
On our first day off in Hong Kong, a small group of us decided to take a trip to Lantau Island to see the Tian Tan Buddha statue (informally known as the Big Buddha) and the Po Lin Monastery.

Tian Tan Buddha
There are a number of ways to get to the Island, (see below.) We decided to take the cable car which cost £18 return. You can go the whole hog for £25 and get a car with a glass bottom but that makes my feet itch just thinking about it!

Because this is such a popular attraction, one thing to be aware of is the queue. Trip advisor did warn us that it can take up to three hours…lucky for us we didn’t have to wait that long, but still we waited for over an hour. If you want to avoid queues altogether I suspect you might need to get there as early as possible, we arrived at the cable car station at around mid day and it was very busy!
I’m not great with heights but I loved the Cable Car experience, the views were breathtaking and on our return the sun was setting which made it pretty darn special.

You should allow the whole day for this excursion. There is a lot to see here on the Island, plenty of photo opportunities and I found the whole experience peaceful and tranquil.

  • 🚡 BY CABLE CAR: Take the MTR (tube) to Tung Chung Station, Exit B for Ngong Ping Cable Car. (25 minutes plus queuing time!)
  • 🚌 BY BUS: Take the MTR to Tung Chung Station, Exit B for New Lantao Bus 23 from Tung Chung Town Centre. (45 minutes.)
  • ⛴ BY FERRY: Take the ferry from Central Pier 6 to Mui Wo, then take the New Lantao Bus 2 to Ngong Ping Village. (40 minutes.)

Beef & Liberty

I love burgers… Beef burgers. There. I said it. Remember when I had the severe case of the food envies and I had to go back for the Big Bear Burger at I Am Cafe in Singapore? On my 30th birthday we went for burgers, at my Hen party we went for burgers…when I ran the London Marathon I swear meeting my friends and family at Byron Burger made me run a little quicker. I’m burger mad. I may as well rename this blog Burgering About.

I’m happy to report that I found a winner of a burger joint here in Hong Kong. Beef and Liberty. Their ethos is proudly serving hormone-free grass-fed beef.
I had the good old fashioned Hamburger (£9.80) with Mac & Cheese Bites (£5.20)😋 …I know right! Both were excellent and as per were inhaled by me, sorry not sorry.
Beef and Liberty are also veggie friendly and offer the Beetroot burger which consists of brown rice, beetroot, goats cheese, cumin and coriander (£9.80) After 2pm on Monday’s order a veggie burger and you’ll get a free veggie side 👍

  • BEEF & LIBERTY: Star St. Precinct, 23 Wing Fung St
  • Mon-Thurs: 11:30 – 22:30
  • Fri-Sun: 11:00 – 23:00
  • Nearest MTR: Wanchai

Hong Kong Night Markets

One of my favourite things to do when I have a day off in London (rare) and when the weather is good (even rarer) is mooch around Portobello Road, Spitalfields or Camden. When I lived in South London I used to love looking around Greenwich Market, there was a stall there called Banana Man and he sold fruit kebabs ladeled in chocolate and nuts on a banana leaf 😋 (I’m salivating.) …Anyway, I really enjoy whiling away the hours looking at trinkets and homemade bits and bobs.

Hong Kong has loads of markets too. To name a few…Ladies Market, Stanley Market, Wet Markets and Temple Market.  I intend to have a good ol’ ganders around them all.

Temple Street Market
On our first evening off I spent a good hour or so wandering down Temple Street Market. I loved it. I might have even found a few little Christmas pressies ☺️
Kim and I tried some Dim Sum street food for £5! … Beef rice, steamed green veg and veggie dumplings. Delish! 😋

“I think I’m gonna like it here.” ~ Annie
 That’s our first two weeks down and Hong Kong is already flying by, there is so much I would like to see and do… Not to mention Christmas next week!

Being away from home, we are very fortunate to be spending Christmas in such a friendly, welcoming city. Our audiences have been so responsive and supportive and our theatre is just lovely!

I wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and I look forward to sharing with you the next chapter of my adventure in a few weeks time…

Love Emily xxx


“Through the years we all will be together, if the fates allow, hang a shining star upon the highest bough…and have yourself a merry little Christmas now” 💕

Author:

Actress, Foodie, Tea Fanatic.

One thought on “From Higham to Hong Kong

Leave a Reply

