Posted in Disney, Hong Kong, Travel

Hong Kong: Disney Dreams πŸ’«

There’s a great big hunk of world down there with no fence around it ~ Lady & the Tramp.

It’s no secret that I love Disney. I grew up in the 90’s during a spell of amazing Disney films… The Little Mermaid, Beauty & the Beast, Aladdin, The Lion King. Not to mention those incredible Pixar films…

You must not let anyone define your limits because of where you come from. Your only limit is your soul.” – Gusteau, Ratatouille

I love a good quote, a good inspirational quote. Disney are great at teaching children (young and old!) life lessons through their stories…what it means to love someone, and not just in the romantic sense. And how it is ok to be different and it wouldn’t do for us all to be the same… what a boring world we would live in…


One things for sure, Disney are masters of story telling. Films about courage, love, friendship and kindness… which, in my book, is the most important trait a person can have.

Have courage and be kind ~ Cinderella

DisneyLand, Hong Kong πŸ‡­πŸ‡°

I cannot believe I have now been in Hong Kong for six weeks… Time has literally run away with me…

One thing I had on my check list of places to go to whilst in Hong Kong, was Disneyland. Having only ever been to the one in Orlando Florida, I was really looking forward to experiencing Disney on the other side of the world.

A day ticket for Disneyland is $590HKD (Β£60) which is pretty standard for Disney. I had heard the park was quite small but I thought it was really well set up and contained. There are seven lands to explore… Adventureland, Grizzly Gulch, Mystic Point, Toy Story Land, Fantasyland, Tomorrowland and Main Street, U.S.A.

My friend Victoria and I were really lucky with characters, as we saw (and got to meet) many. Including the usual suspects, Mickey and Minnie. ❀ My only disappointment is that I didn’t get to meet Stitch..


The parades were absolutely brilliant, we stayed for the night parade and it was just so colourful and well… Disney. Children’s faces (including mine and my friends) all lit up as bright as the lights. Personally, having worked for Disney when I was 19, I feel a real sense of nostalgia when I visit the park.

I’m sure most would agree, whatever your age, that you’d be hard pushed to leave Disneyland without a smile on your face.

  • Disneyland Hong Kong ~ check the website for park hours and special events.
  • Nearest MTR: Sunny Bay

Home ~ Eat To Live

After Victoria and I left Disneyland, we’d eaten so much sugar and naughty food but we hadn’t really had a substantial meal as such. (A good tip is to pack a little lunch to take with you- as you would expect it’s a bit “fast foodie” in the park.)

One of my favourite clean eating spots that I’ve found in Hong Kong is veggie/vegan restaurant, Home~Eat To Live in Central. The food is fresh, tasty and you know you are getting some good honest nutritious food down you. πŸ₯•πŸ₯’πŸ₯‘

One of my favourite dishes is the cauliflower and kale mash with sunflower seeds sprinkled on top (delish πŸ˜‹)

If you have read any of my previous blogs, you will know that I am partial to a burger… (The Big Bear Burger springs to mind- you know what I’m talking about!) The veggie burgers here are absolutely delicious, my favourite is The Polar Bear Burger… Beetroot, Mushroom & Oat Patty, Roasted Bell Peppers, Smoked Eggplant Caviar, Classic Aioli … yum.

  • HOME: NEXXUS BUILDING, 77 DES VOEUX RD
  • MONDAY – FRIDAY 8AM-10PM, SATURDAY – SUNDAY 10AM-10PM
  • NEAREST MTR: CENTRAL

The Ladies Market

I’ve got gadgets and gizmos a-plenty

Last week I ventured over to Mong Kok, Kowloon to The Ladies Market to have a ganders (and possibly a cheeky purchase!) With over 100 stalls of bargain clothing, accessories and souvenirs, the Ladies’ Market on Tung Choi Street is a must!

My top tip would be to leave a little room in your suitcase, as it is the perfect place to get keepsakes and some presents to take home 😊

  • MON-SUN: 3pm (ish) – Midnight
  • NEAREST MTR: Mong Kok, Exit E2.

I’ve had so much fun over the last few weeks, visiting as many places as I can fit in during my stay, including The 10,000 Buddhas, Lamma Island, Lion Rock (to name but  a few.) Along with some, quite frankly incredible food places, so keep your eyes peeled for my next couple of blogs featuring those!

Lots of love Emily xxx

Everyone has a favourite Disney film… What’s yours?

Adventure is out there…

Author:

Actress, Foodie, Tea Fanatic.

2 thoughts on “Hong Kong: Disney Dreams πŸ’«

  1. Hi Emily
    I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and love it, you have soooo many fun adventures. I’ve loved reading about your Disney adventures been a Disney nerd myself I would say I love Big Hero 6/Brave and Wreck It Ralph is a favourite too. I’ve spent a few holidays in Orlando and is my one of my favourite holiday destinations!! I’m glad you managed to experience the Hing Kong version. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Patty, thank you for taking the time to read my blog. I’m so pleased that I got to experience Hong King Disneyland too. Hong Kong is a fantastic city and I’ve had a great time here, (I cannot believe it has gone so fast!) Brave is a great film too πŸ’•
      Emily x

      Like

Leave a Reply

