Posted in Foodie, Manila, Travel

Manila Part 2: The Biggest French Toast in the World… 

“When you wake up in the morning, Pooh,” said Piglet at last, “what’s the first thing you say to yourself?”

“What’s for breakfast?” said Pooh. “What do you say, Piglet?”

“I say, I wonder what’s going to happen exciting today” said Piglet.

Pooh nodded thoughtfully. “It’s the same thing,” he said.”

The Shaw Clan – circa the late 80s
I was about 8 years old at a family do.  It was the 90’s and prawn vol-au-vents were still a thing. I always looked forward to our family parties… lots of fun, games and silliness with my favourite silly people. But also the main event. The Buffet.

It’s all my Grandma’s fault really, she made these Raspberry Creams that everyone went nuts for. Raspberries and double cream cushioned by a dome of lady fingers in a bowl of sugary scrumptiousness. The taste was out of this world and as many times as I have tried, I can never seem to make one as delicious as my Grandma’s.

When it came to buffet time I liked to hang out in the kitchen and help bring out the dishes to the table. (And by bring out, I mean taste test each and every dish.)

I had three helpings of Raspberry cream. Three.

Since then, things haven’t changed much…

Yes… this is me stuffing my face on my wedding day… wearing and apron… I’m nothing if not prepared.

Wildflour Cafe & Bakery

If there’s one word I enjoy as much as buffet, it’s breakfast.

Having heard so many good reports about the food at the Wildflour cafe in Makati, I felt the only polite thing to do would be to go and check it out for myself…

Located in the financial district of Makati, it took us a little while to get there from the hotel.


In theory Makati is only about a 15 minute drive from where we are staying. In Manila, I suggest you allow at least 45 minutes for traffic where ever you are going… especially if you are going to a bakery… I mean, you wouldn’t want to miss out on those baked goods would you? 😜

And baked goods a plenty at Wildflour… I was in a bakery wonderland…

So happy 😊
The menu was extensive with such a variety to choose from. They also do lunch and dinner here- which I will, no doubt, go back and try at some point before I leave.

I chose the French toasted brioche with maple syrup (395pesos – £6.50)


It. Was. Delicious. It reminded me of my Mum’s bread and butter pudding 😋 It was also the size of a brick… the biggest French toast in the world (well… that I’ve seen!)  It beat me… and it’s very rare for me to not finish a meal… very rare indeed!

Homemade Granola (top left) Fluffy pancakes (top right) Salmon & Avocado tartan (bottom left)
Wildflour really is one of the best breakfast places that I have visited in a while, I am looking forward to returning once (or thrice) before I leave.

  • Wildflour Cafe & Bakery
  • Mon- Thurs:  7am- 10pm
  • Fri- Sat: 7am- 11pm
  • Sunday: 8am- 4pm
  • 125 LP Leviste Street, Salcedo Village 1227 Makati City

Four weeks down and three to go, I have so much more to explore and write about. If you have any recommendations of must try cafes, bars or restaurants then I’d love to hear from you… I am always up for trying something new!

As always, lots of love

Emily xxx

Grandma’s Raspberry Cream Recipe 🍰


You will need:

  • 2 Tins of Raspberries
  • A few fresh Raspberries
  • 170 ml double cream – whipped
  • 24 Italian sponge fingers (lady fingers)
  • Serves 4-6

Method:

Drain the tinned raspberries over a shallow dish, set aside the drained raspberries in a separate dish.

Soak the sponge fingers in the juice from the raspberries and start to line a pudding bowl (a glass Pyrex bowl is good as you can see if there are any cracks you have missed).

Be careful not to let the first few sponge fingers soak up all the raspberry juice, so move the soaked fingers onto a plate until you need them.

Once you have lined the bowl with the sponge fingers, put a spoonful of raspberries into the bowl, then add the whipped cream to cover the raspberries and continue to layer until you have reached the top.

You should have enough sponge fingers left to cover the top sealing the pudding.

Place a plate on top of the bowl with a weight on the plate. Put in the refrigerator and leave for at least two hours.

When ready to serve, turn the pudding bowl upside down on a serving plate and lift the bowl from the sponge fingers. At this point you can add fresh raspberries about the base of the Raspberry Cream. Enjoy!


Please feel free to send me photos of your Raspberry Cream efforts and what you think… I hope you enjoy it as much as me ❤️

Author:

Actress, Foodie, Tea Fanatic.

Leave a Reply

