Posted in China, Shanghai, Travel

Oh Hi, Shanghai!

Shanghai has to be the city that I’ve acclimatized to the quickest. Normally the first two weeks of a new place I’m still finding my feet, but here in Shanghai it just feels like I slipped into a familiar pair of shoes… and they are very comfortable.


One of the things that I love most about Shanghai, is the abundance of individual coffee houses, bars and boutiques. Hardly any chains in sight. I really like that. It’s fantastic to see small business’ thriving here, and whilst I’m in this little touring bubble I intend to visit as many as I can.


Having been here in Shanghai for two weeks already, I can tell you that everywhere I’ve been has been absolutely top notch ๐Ÿ‘Œ. For example, the Bagel shop around the corner from our hotel (Spread the Bagel) has some of the best bagels I have ever tasted. The coffee in literally every cafe I’ve visited has been scrumptious, my favourite being Coffee Belt, they do the BEST Flat White.

Address: 368 Shaanxi Nan Lu, by Fuxing Zhong Lu

In a lot of bars and cafes you need a Chinese phone number to access the Internet. Though there are positives and negatives to this. The hardest being that I cannot reach out to my family as easily or get myself on social media as frequently but on the flip side the positives are that I don’t have my head stuck in my phone 24/7 and I can actually have a conversation with my peers over lunch ๐Ÿ˜‰ … so maybe it’s a refreshing thing… it’s all very 1999 and we managed then ๐Ÿ™‚

If you are visiting China for a long period of time then I would suggest getting a Chinese SIM for your phone, there are many places you can purchase one from here, but you will need to unlock your phone or bring a spare non- smart phone with you.

Egg ๐Ÿณย 

Brunch is really big in Shanghai *does a happy dance* and as you know I’m a big fan of brunch, breakfast and anything pancake related.


Egg is a really good, reasonably priced all day breakfast/brunch/brinner spot that has become quite popular with our company. The food is great and it’s got a really nice friendly feel to it. Their menu also includes smashed avocado on toast, chilli candied bacon and carrot cake pancakes ๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹

  • Egg
  • 12 Xiangyang Bei Lu (near Julu Lu)
  • 8:00am – 6:30pm every day

It’s incredibly easy to eat well here with many healthy options on every street corner… and we need to talk about Xiao Long Bao (Soup Dumplings) my new favourite thing. ๐Ÿ˜‹

Safe to say, Shanghai is a bit of a foodies paradise… I think I’m gonna like it here.

Our first two weeks here have been brilliant and we’ve only just started to explore… Yesterday we headed out to the Yellow Mountains in Huangshan… but more on that in next weeks blog ๐Ÿ’›

Until then,

Love Emily xxx

Mount Huangshan ๐Ÿ’›
Author:

Actress, Foodie, Tea Fanatic.

2 thoughts on “Oh Hi, Shanghai!

Leave a Reply

