Posted in China, Hiking, Travel

Shanghai: Ain’t no Mountain High Enough

Travel makes one modest. You see what a tiny place you occupy in the world ~ Gustave Flaubert

Being thousands of miles from home can be so hard sometimes. I definitely have ups and downs. I hold on to the fact that I am doing what I love and seeing places that I wouldn’t have otherwise had the opportunity to see, but there are days when I feel blue and I just want to see my Husband, my family and even the ever unsociable cat Dottie.

Most of the time I’m positive and although I’m away from my favourite people for all of 12 weeks (9 weeks now 😊) I usually see this part of my life as an adventure I get to share with all of them when I get home. Of course there are those days when I can’t snap out of my home-sickness and I  let myself have those days too. I usually take myself off to a coffee shop or go for a walk in the park and read my book, I think it’s important to acknowledge that it’s ok to have those days.


… The day I visited Huangshan Yellow Mountains was not one of those days πŸ˜‰

It’s hard to feel anything but exhilaration at hiking up to the top of a mountain and seeing the most incredible views and scenery I have possibly ever seen…

Breathtaking view πŸ’›
Huangshan is a mountain range in southern Anhui province in eastern China. Often referred to as The Yellow Mountains, well known for its spectacular views, pine trees and granite peaks, it’s also a World Heritage Site, and one of China’s major tourist destinations.

The Mountains are so vast that you could spend a good few days exploring them. 

We generally have the one day off a week, usually a Monday. So we had to squeeze our visit in, including a 4am start and a 12 hour round trip car journey  πŸ˜¬… sounds a lot I know, but it was truly worth it – and on a side note, I had the time to sit down and listen to the Hamilton soundtrack… (twice) so win win.


Like the Big Buddha in Hong Kong. You can get the cable car up to the start of the trail, I believe you can also hike- but this would take a good chunk of time. If you would rather hike up it’s worth noting that once you get up to the top, the hike to all of the landmarks and best views are pretty hard going. About 18 of us went and we all agreed it was a particularly tough hike- especially coming back up from the Fairy Bridge, (my calf muscles still haven’t forgiven me!)

…and we had to climb back up these!
The hike that we took led us to the famous Welcome Pine, Lotus Peak, Xihai Canyon and the Fairy Bridge (fair walking bridge). All with incredible views on the way. It’s worth printing off a map before you leave, as all the signs are in Chinese (why wouldn’t they be!) So it’s a good idea to plan the routes you are going to take before you get there… you wouldn’t want to climb a steep staircase only to have to turn back.

I definitely recommend bringing plenty of water and snacks with you. There are some little tuck shops along the routes but they are not cheap and I always think it’s handy to have provisions stored away… just in case 😊 


This was truly such a breathtaking day. Seeing something quite this beautiful is certainly humbling. We really do live in the most extrodinary world.

  • Huangshan Mountains
  • Sun to Fri 06:30 – 16:30
  • Saturday 06:00 – 16:30
  • Bring comfy hiking clothes and shoes, water, snacks, sunscreen and camera 
  • Definitely do the hike to the Fairy Bridge- it was my favourite πŸ’›

We are now more than half way through Shanghai with only two weeks left and so much more to explore before we up and head over to Beijing.

So much time, so little to do. Strike that, reverse it. ~ Willy Wonka

Tomorrow we are heading over to Wuhzen water village, which looks absolutely stunning. I cannot wait to share with you my list of food recommendations, including my favourite brunch stops, soup dumplings, bakeries and bars… to be continued.

Lots of love & happy May Day! 

Emily xxx 

 

Author:

Actress, Foodie, Tea Fanatic.

Leave a Reply

