Posted in China, Travel

There’s no place like home… 

Why do you go away? So that you can come back. So that you can see the place you came from with new eyes and extra colors. And the people there see you differently, too. Coming back to where you started is not the same as never leaving. ~ Terry Pratchett

The ducks are padding about on the banks of the River Avon and I’m sat on the patio chair soaking up the Stratford sunshine with a nice cup of English breakfast tea. (I’ve already had about 100 cups of tea since I touched down on British soil!)


After a 4 hour bus journey, a 15 hour flight and what seemed like the longest journey day, I am home, I am back from my adventure, with the photographs, friends and memories that I will hold on to for the rest of my life.

The volcanic lake within Taal Volcano, Philippines

Over this last year we’ve performed in 5 countries and 7 cities. Bradford England, Singapore, Hong Kong, Manila, Shanghai, Beijing and Guangzhou. I’ve explored parts of the world I had never dreamed of getting to see… hiked mountains, swam in Volcanos, been caught in a tropical thunder storm whilst snorkelling in the sea in Malaysia , walked the Great Wall of China, travelled on a cable car through the misty Hallelujah Avatar Mountains, danced with fireflies on a boat in Indonesia, walked across a glass bridge over a canyon, tried, loved and learned how to make soup dumplings… and of course, met some wonderful people along the journey.

The Great Wall of China

No one realizes how beautiful it is to travel until he comes home and rests his head on his old, familiar pillow.” – Lin Yutang

Sunday marked our last two shows of the International tour of Wicked. I always find the end of a contract quite bitter sweet, on the one hand it’s a celebration but on the other it’s hard to part from colleagues turned friends that you have literally spent every day with. 


I feel that it’s even more apparent on an International tour. Being away from friends, family and loved ones is really hard. Even though we all got to see all these incredible places, I’ve mentioned in previous blog posts that I have struggled on many occasion. We all have from time to time. Just like hiking on the Great Wall of China, we pulled each other along, encouraged, listened and looked after one another. We were a team, a touring family. I feel lucky to have have made not only great memories but some great friends too.


But here we are, back home and it seems as though the last 12 months were a bit of a dream. 


I’d like to extend a big thank you to all of you that have supported our show and taken the time to read my blog posts about my adventures- I have loved sharing them with you… until next time 💕

Lots of love 

Emily xxx

💚

Author:

Actress, Foodie, Tea Fanatic.

One thought on “There’s no place like home… 

  1. What a journey!! Thank you for bravely signing the contract in the first hand, so i could have the chance to see your amazing performances in the other side of the world💕
    Stratford is such a beautiful place and I remember every time we had to decide a short-get-away place during high school, Stratford’s the top one on the list☺️
    I hope you have a wonderful time, and, maybe i’d be able to see you performing again some day, at the West End, or else where😘❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

